Previous Finalists





Book of the Month

The Boy Who Dreamt the World by Jethro Punter
Jethro Punter

Blurb

'The Boy Who Dreamt the World' is the award winning first book in the Daydreamer Chronicles Series (2019 Wishing Shelf Award)
There are two worlds that have always lived peacefully alongside each other, the world we know and Reverie, the Great Dream.
Adam's life is turned upside down when he discovers that, as a Daydreamer, he can travel between the two and achieve impossible things. You would think being able to control your dreams would be fun. But in a place where those dreams can take on a life of their own and nightmares stalk the streets, just making it through the night is hard enough.
Then there is the mystery surrounding the odd new girl in his class, detentions to avoid... and the small matter of saving the world.
Welcome to a new Middle Grade fantasy adventure in a world where dreams don't just exist inside your head. Meet the unusual cast of characters that inhabit Reverie, joining Adam on an adventure that will determine the fate of both worlds.
"Jethro Punter delivers a fascinating world of dreams that blend magic, imagination, and mystery for an unforgettable adventure.... The Boy Who Dreamt the World is a story with heart, mystery, danger, friendship, and intrigue in a place where dreams come to life and anything is possible." - Readers' Favourite Book Reviews
★★★★★ "an exciting new series that is perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Charlie Bone. Continuous twists and turns make for a quick read, while still remaining highly satisfying. I could barely put it down" - Amazon.com review
★★★★★ "a fun and magical tale for everyone who enjoys a well-crafted fantasy story" - Amazon.com review

What Our Readers Think

This book was entered in The Wishing Shelf Book Awards. This is what our readers thought:
Title: The Boy Who Dreamt the World
Author: Jethro Punter

Star Rating: 5 Stars
Number of Readers: 21
Stats
Editing: 10/10
Writing Style: 10/10
Content: 10/10
Cover: 10/10
Of the 21 readers:
21 would read another book by this author.
21 thought the cover was good or excellent.
21 felt it was easy to follow.
21 would recommend this story to another reader to try.
Of all the readers, 13 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘plotting a story’.
Of all the readers, 8 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘developing the characters’.
20 felt the pacing was good or excellent.
21 thought the author understood the readership and what they wanted.

Readers’ Comments
‘I loved the premise of this book, the way he lived in two worlds and has problems in both.’ Boy, aged 12
‘I liked the danger and trying to work out what was going to happen next. But I never could!’ Girl, aged 11
‘The dream world was super-cool. I just wish it had been longer. The author seems to know what children want to read. I thought the cover was amazing!’ Girl, aged 12
‘Tons of twists and turns that kept me guessing. The boy, Adam, is an interesting character and had strength and never seems to give up. The plot is clever and there’s lots of adventure stuff in here that children will like. I liked ‘nightmares stalk the street’ from the blurb. That made me want to read it.’ Girl, aged 12

To Sum It Up:
‘A fantastical fantasy adventure for 9 – 12 year olds. A SILVER MEDAL WINNER and highly recommended.’ The Wishing Shelf Book Awards

Sponsored Ads



Henry Disney's
truly unforgettable read
REGAINING LIFE’S WINDING TRAIL
www.austinmacauley.com


Chermpf by W. S. Russell lll
An exciting adventure with
Gracie and the Cats of Nova!
www.borderstationpress.com


The Frog Who Was Blue
A charity book that is
helping children in Africa.
www.childrensfunnybooks.co.uk


Inconvenient Memories
An intimate account of a
modern Chinese social tragedy
www.amazon.com





Kissed: A Cat Miranda Mystery
Complex characters, perfect
for mystery lovers!
Amazon


THE AWAN LAKE SERIES
CANADIAN COZY MYSTERIES
set in Canada’s Lake Country
www.peterkingsmill.ca


The Moon Pigeon
NASA report on 'MOON PIGEONS'
Discover the truth!
www.amazon.com


The Staten Island Butcher
Priest tries to rescue
student from serial killer
www.georgerhopkins.com